top of page
  • Writer's pictureMaria

Waste free weekend away

Plastic forks, straws, single use coffee cups, takeaway containers... those nasty old enemies find it so easy to sneak in when you're away on a carefree weekend. Taking advantage of us while we are distracted.


I just got back yesterday from a lovely weekend in away with my husband in Wellington, and boy was it hard work trying to avoid anything making its way to the landfill. I made the mistake of taking a tiny little handbag... which meant I was left juggling all my shopping in my arms, as I refused to use a plastic or paper bag.


The other thing I should've taken was some sort of collapsable container that I could whip out for takeaways, and an all important fork. A flannel, hanky or anything I could wipe a face full of sauce with would have been great too.


Wellington though, I have to say, must be the eco capital of New Zealand. There are so many keep cups about, and the times we did get takeaways, there was no plastic to be seen. I also found a super duper shop on Cuba Street called Good House Keeping. It would be an understatement to say I was excited to look around this shop. But I didn't go crazy, I just bought two nice french glasses with lids to take bit and pieces for my lunch to work in. And they were only $5 each! Bargain!


Definitely looking forward to our next visit to Wellington. Next time i will take my gigantic handbag, fork and container though.



Waste free weekend
Ahhhhh relaxation time






0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page