top of page
  • Writer's pictureMaria

What is Dry Brushing?


I have to admit, I had never heard about dry brushing until I was doing research for this blog post. But it turns out there are awesome benefits that come from dry brushing. Who would have known! To be fair, none of the benefits have been scientifically proven. But there are heaps of people that have said they had great results from daily dry brushing.


So what is it?


It is pretty self-explanatory really. You use a body brush and brush your skin. One article I read actually suggested that you could dry brush your skin instead of using soap. But apparently dry brushing has other magic powers. Of course, it is exfoliating, so it is great for getting rid of all your dead skin cells, but some people claim that it can reduce cellulite, stimulate the lymphatic system, improve circulation, boost energy, and even aid digestion.


How do I do it?


You want to get yourself a body brush, nothing too harsh unless you have skin like a rhino. If in doubt, start with a softer brush and work your way up. You want to start at your feet (so I'm told) and brush your skin, like you would brush your hair. Always stroke towards your heart because that is where your lymphatic system drains towards. Do as many strokes as you like. Then move to your hands and up your arms. Next is the tummy. Brush your tummy in a clockwise motion round and round to aid digestion. Then move to your back and any other spots you may have missed. Finally, if you wish to do your face, use a small, very soft brush and go over your whole face in small circles. Don't push too hard unless you want to end up with saggy wrinkles on your face. It is recommended to brush in the morning, so you feel energized for the rest of the day.


Some people suggest that you can also put oil on your brush when brushing your body, but then it wouldn't be dry brushing would it? If you want to try out the oil thing, I would try coconut, almond, or olive oil. Just put a small amount on your brush before you start.


Honestly, I haven't tried it yet. But, I am on the hunt for a brush so once I get one, I will let you know how it goes. Maybe I will even try ditching the soap too... We don't want a stinky Maria though.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page