top of page
  • Writer's pictureMaria

To bag or not to bag

I almost made my post by Wednesday this week, but not quite. At least I am catching up. Life is just so crazy at the moment, which means it has been harder to live waste free, but I have been doing what I can.


This week I have been thinking about bin liners. We Re use plastic shopping bags for our bin liner, but we are slowly running out now that we aren't getting plastic bags with our shopping (yes, a good thing). But the question is, do we need a bin liner? I realised there is no reason why we need to use a bin liner. Because we use the Bokashi bin and worm farm for our scraps, our rubbish bin doesn't really get dirty. I have read that some people just line the bottom of their bin with newspaper to soak up any drips that may escape, so maybe I will try that. With no bin liner, I think all the loose rubbish will fit into the large rubbish bag better.


Speaking of the big rubbish bag, I do have a confession to make. We put our first rubbish bag out for the year. Yes, it got full. It may not have lasted 12 months, but I think 3 months is a good start. Maybe next time it will be 6 months... then 9 months... then 12 months! Baby steps people,baby steps.



rubbish bag
No bin liner? No worries!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page