top of page
  • Writer's pictureMaria

The future of soft plastic recycling

So what is the future of soft plastic recycling? That is the question. But what is the answer?



It seems that soft plastic recycling is a thing of the past


As of December 2018 most New Zealand retailers who were participating in the soft plastic recycling scheme have now abandoned it, due to the lack of demand from offshore buyers. I think you all know what my answer to this dilemma is going to be. Avoid buying soft plastics. By golly it is difficult, almost everything in the supermarkets has plastic packaging. It just means we have to put in a little more effort and visit bulk bins, farmers markets, make our own or re-use where we can. This will mean a big change for my lifestyle if I want to achieve my goal of only one rubbish bag per year! My life has been so busy lately, I think for me this will mean placing online orders from GoodFor when I'm too busy to visit the bulk bin. That is also a good option for those of you that don't live near a bulk bin. They obviously do have to put everything in packages, but it is all paper packaging which I just add to my worm farm and try not to think about the deforestation. Eek.


I would love to hear all your fabulous ideas for cutting down on soft plastics, I feel like they are taking over!!!


On another note, I would like to apologise that this post is coming to you on a Saturday rather than a Wednesday. I was bed ridden on Wednesday with a nasty gastro virus so was not at all in the mood for putting up a post.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page