top of page
  • Writer's pictureMaria

Sustainable Clothing

Welcome back! How are you going on your zero waste journey? I had one of those moments over the weekend, where I went to just put a few things away and have a bit of a tidy up in the wardrobe, and it turned into a full on clear out! And boy did it feel good.


It got me thinking how I should recycle or re-use the clothes I no longer need. A lot of the stuff can't be taken to the op shop because it is too worn out or it's my old undies, that clearly nobody else is ever going to want. I realised that my undies and other clothes are made out of polyester or nylon. BUT if they were made out of cotton I could simply put them in my compost bin! But who thinks about this when they are buying clothes? To be honest, I'm usually more concerned if they are comfy, or the right colour to match my other clothes. Do people even go into a shop and say "Hi, can you point me towards your compostable clothes please?"


Sustainable Clothes
Cotton T-Shirts

For me the best solution is to have less clothes. But if I am going to buy more clothes I will look out for natural fibres that can be composted. Which means you have to look out for things like elastics or zips too I guess. Maybe someone can make them compostable too? Listen up zip makers of the future!


Do you know who Zero Waste Daniel is? When i google "zero waste clothes" his name comes up everywhere! Looks to me like he is a clothing designer in New York who designs and makes gender neutral clothes from recycled fabrics. Go Daniel! Maybe I will have to do some more research on this Zero Waste Daniel. He seems like an interesting character. Wouldn't it be great if more companies started making new clothes from old clothes?


Do you have any other tips for sustainable clothing? Or how I can recycle the stuff I do have? I'd be keen to find out!


Maria

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page