top of page
  • Writer's pictureMaria

Reducing rubbish to one bag a year!

Updated: Nov 2, 2018

Hi! My name is Maria. I have come to the realization that I have become an eco freak. I have set myself a goal to reduce my houshold waste down to one bag of rubbish (or trash, garbage, whatever you want to call it) a YEAR! That's right people, one bag per year. Baby steps though, I don't imagine it's going to happen overnight.


I almost have my composting down like a pro, which has made a massive difference in how much goes to the landfill, and it means no more stinky bins! ALL our food scraps get composted. It's amazing. It takes us about 2 months to fill up one rubbish bag now.


There are so many easy solutions to stop producing so much waste, the first - stop using single use plastic bags. It's easy to take your own bags and re use them every time. I just keep some cloth bags in the back of my car in case I happen to pop into the supermarket. And I carry round a massive handbag when I go to the mall, not only for all the stuff I need to take for my kid, but for all the purchases I may make.


The second easy change I have made in my life, as i mentioned, is composting all our food scraps. Pretty much all food scraps can go back to the land, you just need to know how to do it. And I can help you! And maybe you can help me too... I did accidentally kill my worms once. Or maybe they didn't like the way I was treating them and moved out. Anyway, we learn from our mistakes right? I have become a much better worm farmer now.


I started this blog to help myself and others to reduce the waste in our lives. I am going to put up posts on how I am reducing my waste, and to hopefully get input from all of you! I've really just dipped my toe into the water when it comes to "zero waste" so would love to hear all your tricks and tips.


I think a big part of becoming waste free is making it easy. If it's too hard, we are less likely to keep it up. And hey, give yourself a break. If you happen to slip up once in a while, or you have a tough week so your zero waste philosophy goes out the window for that week, don't beat yourself up. Even by implimenting one change into your lifestyle you will be making a huge difference.


Until next time!


Maria

Get to zero waste by being sustainable and recycling, composting, worm farm, bokashi bin and reuse bags and containers.
Can you get to zero waste?

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page