top of page
  • Writer's pictureMaria

Product discoveries!

Today I thought I would share with you some of the cool products I have bought or discovered that are helping reduce the waste our household produces.


The Eco Floss - 100% compostable dental floss
My new compostable Eco Floss!

I would totally recommend checking out The Natural Co. website. I just received my order from them, and one of the things I am most excited about is my new Eco Floss! Who would've thought someone could get so excited about floss?! It is a plant based natural floss which is fully compostable. It comes in a cute refillable glass jar with a metal lid, so when I use up all the floss, I just order more to put in my little container! How cool is that? The floss itself actually works surprisingly well too. I often have issues with floss shredding between my teeth, but no problems with this guy! Those plant fibres are tough!


Next up - stainless steel lunch boxes. So ever since I had my lunchtime date by myself at the Thai restaurant all because I didn't have a takeaway container on me, I have been investigating reusable takeaway container options. One of the options I came up with is a stainless steel lunchbox or container. They come as a single or double decker and in small or large sizes. The stainless steel they use is food grade, doesn't absorb smells like plastic does and is fully recyclable. AND most of these babies are leak proof!!! So no curry will pour out the sides if your takeaways fall off the passenger seat. Only thing that has stopped me from purchasing one yet is the price tag. They are generally around $50NZD or more. So I will have to save my pennies. My favs are Bento Ninja and Lunchbox Inc.



How wasteful do you feel when you get takeaways and they give you a non compostable cup and a plastic straw? Insert my cringe face here. Well, I have solved this problem! I happened to discover a cool reusable cup with straw while I was in Kmart one day!! I keep it in my car now in case I get a takeaway combo or whatever. Speaking of straws, do you know how easy it is to just keep a reusable straw in your bag or your car? Even if you are too embarrassed to get them to fill up your cup, you can start by just using your own straw. I found Forever Straw online and thought they were well priced and have a good selection. At only $6.90 for a set of 4 regular sized straws you can't go wrong. I haven't bought any yet, but it's on my list.


Weck Jars. This is big on my wish list. They are super cute, quality preserving jars. They come in a few sizes. I want to use the small ones to take my yoghurt or chia pudding to work in. The larger ones I need to tidy up my pantry with some lovely jars full of lovely ingredients. My first experience with Weck jars was on our honeymoon. The place we stayed at in the Maldives used these jars to serve all sorts of things like yoghurts and other treats in, so I guess it's also kind of nostalgic. They are good quality, German made and have been around since 1895! You can buy a set of them at Mrs Goodness (I love her website).


That's all from me today, I was supposed to get this up last week, but my computer decided to update itself which really interfered with my post! If there are any products you have found that you love, let me know! I love finding out about cool products that help reduce waste.




4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page