top of page
  • Writer's pictureMaria

Plastic Free July!

Sorry if my posts are or will become a little sporadic at the moment, I am expecting the arrival of the little being that has been growing in my belly for the last 9 months! We are also fast approaching "Plastic Free July"! From 1st of July, the ban on plastic shopping bags in New Zealand starts too! This is a huge step in the right direction. I think the world is finally catching on to the fact that we need to be more environmentally conscious. Go us!


The problem is, it's not a complete ban on all plastic bags, which I just found out. Fruit and vege bags will still be available at supermarkets and green grocers. Bummer. Hopefully one day we will get there and ban those too. It is so easy to bring your own produce bags to the supermarket or green grocer.



Bye bye plastic shopping bags!


So what are you planning for Plastic Free July? I am making a plan to reduce my use of disposable nappies for my soon to arrive newborn. I have bought one box to last us in the hospital, and hopefully I will have planned well enough with my reusables that I don't have to buy any more single use! I am also on the look out for some larger containers so I can grab more when I am bulk buying, and don't have to keep going back again and again. It is such a struggle to keep the soft plastic waste down, so that is my goal this month. Although I am happy that they have brought soft plastic recycling back in NZ so anything I do have to buy that has soft plastic can actually be recycled.


What is you goal for Plastic Free July?

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page