top of page
  • Writer's pictureMaria

Waste free partying!

Updated: Nov 5, 2018

Why hello there! I hope you are feeling inspired like I am. I am working on a composting video for you so you can see how my worm farm and bokashi bin work, so stay tuned for that.


On another note, I went to a gathering on the weekend and couldn't help but notice how much plastic was going into the rubbish bin! But how do we solve this? Nobody wants to wash a bazillion plates and cups. Well, I had an idea. What if everyone just brought their own plate, cutlery and cup from home? We would bring our own for a picnic, so why not bring our own for a social gathering? And, then you could proper glass instead of a throw away cup! With your metal knife, you might just be able to cut your steak properly without your plastic knife breaking of bending. When you're finished, just pack up your things into your cute little picnic hamper and take it home to wash.


I know what some of you are thinking, well it's ok if it's paper plates, or bamboo cutlery.... uh, no. That stuff does not decompose in the landfill. To cut a long story short, (from what I was told at the composting workshop) NOTHING decomposes in the landfill due to the lack of air in the huge pile of rubbish.


So next time you organise a party or gathering, how about asking your guests to BYO plates, cutlery and cups? Sounds like a great idea to me.


See you next time to learn about my compost!


Maria

Re-useable plates and cups for parties
How about asking your guests to BYO plates to your next social event?



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page