top of page
  • Writer's pictureMaria

Ordering in Bulk... Online

I'm back! Sorry I have neglected the blog over the last 4 weeks, but I was a little pre occupied with bubs who was born on the 8th of July. He is pretty much my full on obsession at the moment. Because of the new addition to our family, it also means I haven't really had the time or energy to get out of the house too much. And when I have, I have only had time for a quick race around the supermarket for the essentials. Which led me to explore options for buying in bulk online.


The two places that I know of around my area where you can fill your own containers is GoodFor, which I LOVE, having been into their store, and Refill Nation which I don't know too much about. Now they both take online orders, obviously they aren't filling your containers, instead they use paper bags for your order. With GoodFor having free shipping for orders over $100 and Refill Nation having a promotion for free shipping on orders over $50, I decided to give Refill Nation a go.


I wasn't totally sold on my online shopping experience with Refill Nation. I felt that they didn't have a lot of stock for starters. Some things I needed were sold out, and there were occasions where I was alerted that instead of the 500 grams I wanted, I could only order 200 grams of a certain item. The next pitfall was they add the tax on once you are in the shopping cart ready to pay, so the listed prices for each item can be a bit deceiving.


The parcel did arrive at my house fairly promptly though. I think I ordered on a Friday and received my package on the Monday. It seemed to come in all paper packaging, although some of the bags they used I think were lined with non stick paper which is non recyclable. I will have to check this with them though.


The quality of the food seems to be pretty darn good though, I can't stop snacking on the delicious organic dried apricots! Yum! And I felt like I got a lot of food for the $60 I spent.


Next time I will try GoodFor, just for a comparison. But overall I thought Refill Nation wasn't too bad. I would definitely try them again if they continue the free shipping on orders over $50. After I have a chat to them about that non stick paper of course.



My Refill Nation Order
And here is how it arrived!




6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page