top of page
  • Writer's pictureMaria

Online Ordering from GoodFor

I have been getting pretty overwhelmed lately with a 4 year old, a 4 month old and trying to take 20 jars to the shop and fill them up. So last week I placed an online order with GoodFor. Here's what I thought.


They have a great selection at GoodFor of weird and wonderful pantry items. Most of their stuff is organic, so i find it is a bit more expensive. You do get amazingly delicious food though so it can be worth it if you're not on a tight budget. I bought basic pantry staples like oats and flour, some yummy dried fruits, matcha powder as a change from my normal green tea, popcorn, yeast, cacao nibs and well, I bought $120 worth of stuff so I will just stop there.


To get free shipping you have to spend over $100 so of course that's what I did. It's a little annoying though that they have a packaging charge which is about .50c per item and is capped at $10. That was an unexpected expense for me on top of an already expensive shop.


I found the way you add your chosen quantity into your cart a little strange. You can only order up to 500g and then i guess you have to buy a second order of the same product. So if you wanted 1kg of flour, you would have to order 500g of flour, and then another 500g of flour. I guess they don't have packaging that can cope with weights over 500g.


It was expensive. But that is kind of what I expected. GoodFor is a little bit of a treat for me really. That is the reason it is more expensive. They sell organic, rare and high quality foods, so you get what you pay for.


My package arrived super quickly. I ordered it in the afternoon and it arrived on my doorstep the next morning! Pretty good considering I am at a rural address. It came in a beautiful GoodFor cardboard box. I was a little disappointed when I opened it up and it was half full of tissue paper. Although I guess my worms will like that. All the food was double bagged in brown paper bags. They had taken care not to let anything leak or get damaged. The chocolate I ordered also had cardboard around it to protect it. It did take me a long time to unpack it all though! It was also a little hard to read what each package was. It was hand written on each bag, but there was tape covering most of the writing, making it a bit like the night before Christmas, trying to feel all your presents to find out what's inside.


And how about the food? Was it delicious? Yes. Amazing. although a bit too fancy for my toddlers taste (which is fine with me!) He prefers the cheap dried mango we usually buy that is covered in sugar, to the organic mango cheeks I got from GoodFor which I am now happily devouring.


Would I order from them again? Maybe if I'm feeling like treating myself, but not too often! I think I will just have to persist in making my weekly trips to Bin Inn.






10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page