top of page
  • Writer's pictureMaria

Did I order a side of plastic with that?

Have you experienced that sneaky plastic straw that turns up in your drink at a restaurant? Or you go out for what you hope will be a lovely relaxed coffee on the weekend, so you can chill out, drink your coffee from their ceramic cup, and eat all the yummy foam off the top with your teaspoon but they present you with a takeaway cup? This has happened to me on so many occasions now, you think I would learn to ask.


I have been so good with my zero waste habits lately, and things like this just bug me. I mean, once they have given you the plastic straw, or takeaway cup you can't exactly get them to take it back at no cost to the environment. That straw or cup is already destined for the landfill. Do I need to wear a t-shirt everywhere that says in huge letters: DO NOT GIVE ME ANYTHING DESTINED FOR THE LANDFILL? You know what, maybe that's actually not a bad idea...


But seriously, I think for me it is just a case of learning not to assume that that bottle of ginger beer you order isn't going to turn up at the table in a glass with a straw. Or triple checking that the cafe knows you want to drink your coffee there... in a ceramic cup.



Did you know your order was coming with a side of plastic for the landfill?


I have been doing a lot more shopping at Good For and Bin Inn lately in an attempt to avoid soft plastics, which has been so heart warming. Good For has so many amazing products too. My fav this week was the acai berry powder that I use to make smoothie bowls.


I have been so inspired by Sophie Steevens since discovering her on TV. She is behind Raw and Free, a health and wellness website about eating a raw diet. All the food she makes looks so delicious!!! And it is mostly fruit and vegetables, so all the waste can go back to the earth. Check out Raw and Free on Instagram though, I'm sure you'll love it too! I'm not vegan, but have been trying to eat less meat lately as I have become more aware of the impact meat production has on out environment.


Sorry, I went off on a bit of a tangent there. But just remember when eating out, never assume. Happy Wednesday everyone!


Maria

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page