top of page
  • Writer's pictureMaria

Challenges of Going Zero Waste

Hello all my amazing readers out there! If there is anyone out there. If not, I guess I l consider this my diary. In that case, maybe I should be starting this blog post with dear diary... Today I wanted to share with you a few of the challenges I have been facing while transitioning to a zero waste lifestyle.


So firstly, my lovely worms have been a little bit troublesome. They seem to be pretty happy, and they have been multiplying, BUT I think I was overfeeding them, and it got quite smelly and soggy in there. If you are doing it properly, a worm farm shouldn't smell bad. So I stopped feeding them for a while, and added lots of ripped up paper for bedding, the worms will eat this too, so they won't go hungry. The other problem with the worms, is they have had some unwanted friends move in. Earthworm mites. I still haven't managed to get rid of them, and they are multiplying!y my Bokashi bin has been getting very full lately.


Single use straws, one of my biggest enemies. Twice now, I have ordered a bottled drink at a restaurant and they have brought it out in a glass with a straw! NOOOOOOOOOO! So this has made me realise, Every time I order a drink, no matter what, I need to ask for no straw.


One sign you are serious about going zero waste... digging through your rubbish bin. Yes, it has become my new hobby. Not really, but I seem to be doing it a lot. As gross as it sounds, it actually helps you figure out what you could be doing differently, and avoid buying. It also helps you filter out things like paper and food scraps that other family members may have slipped in there. So go on, get your hands dirty!


I think I will finish with something that has really been bugging me. My jar collection. I really should have selected jars that are similar sizes and stack nicely together. To avoid your pantry looking like a complete mess, I would suggest you select jars that stack nicely together, or at least fit together uniformly. They can be bought jars, or re purposed jars, just make sure they are uniform to keep your sanity.


I would love for you all to share any challenges you are facing going zero waste! Just post a comment here or on the facebook page.









0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page