top of page
  • Writer's pictureMaria

Buying food waste free

Updated: Nov 19, 2018

Today I did my first shop using my new reusable fruit and vege bags. Wow it felt good! I used my bags for everything that needed a bag and it was SO easy!


Only problem was, I needed more than just fruit and vegetables. I did try the local Bin Inn, which I thought would have a lot of self serve options, so I could get pasta package free and utilise my jars, but the only thing I came away with there was some turmeric, which ended up being a bargain at only 70 cents to fill up my spice jar! I just got them to weigh my little jar, then i filled it up and they re-weighed it and subtracted the difference.


So next, I had to go to the supermarket to get everything else on my list. And wow, that experience really reinforced that pretty much everything there is packaged in plastic. And there are some things I just don't know how to get around. Like milk for example. How do I buy milk without a bottle? And no, I don't have room for a cow at my house.



Buying fruit and vegetables waste free
My plastic free grocery haul



The only way to reduce some of that waste, is to make it yourself. And I know for a lot of people, that is way too time consuming. If you're into it, maybe make a batch of muesli bars or bread or cookies on the weekend to save you from buying these things.


Farmers markets are also a great place to buy fresh foods without the packaging. You can buy your fruit and vegetables, meats, yoghurts, breads, vege plants, all from the same place. And have a nice coffee or brunch while you're at it. Sounds good to me!


I did just discover a store that has made me very excited. It is called GoodFor and I can't wait to go check it out. They have a huge selection in what looks to me like bulk buying heaven. If you are in Auckland, go check it out!!! They have 4 stores in Auckland.


At the end of the day, trying to buy your food waste free is not only good for the planet, but saves you money! And the best thing is it makes you feel good. And don't we all want to feel good?


Until next time!


Maria


PS. I have filmed the worm farm and bokashi bin intro! Just a bit of editing and they will be up on the blog.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page