top of page
  • Writer's pictureMaria

5 Plastic Substitutes for your Bathroom

Hello and happy plastic free July! I didn't know if I would be writing this post today of not, as the baby in my belly should have come out by now! But I thought, I will do my best effort to bring you some ideas for plastic free July each week until the end of July... or until this baby takes over my life and all my waking hours.





Here are 5 easy substitutes you can make for plastic items in your bathroom.


1. Razor

Stainless steel razors

Now I know you probably have your fav razor, but I challenge you to give this one a go. Replace your plastic razor with a beautiful stainless one. There are plenty of options on the market, but if you decide to spend a bit more and get a really nice one, you will eventually make up the cost in razor heads. With stainless razors, there are no plastic parts. All you do is replace the stainless blade, and they are super duper affordable! This is one of my favs.


2. Deodorant

This is one you probably don't even really think about. But there are other options! I stumbled across a crystal deodorant years ago, which I am still using to this day! Check out a salt based deodorant here. I find my one works fantastically. You just wet it and rub it under your pits. It has no smell, and doesn't leave any residue on your clothes. You don't even know you have it on! There are of course other plastic free options, but this one is tried and tested by yours truly! I haven't tried any other products because I am so in love with my crystal deodorant.


3. Toothbrush

Bye bye plastic toothbrush!

Now you probably all know you can get compostable toothbrushes now, and I have to admit, this isn't a 100% plastic free option, as the bristles are still plastic. But it has to be better than the alternative right?! I do believe though that Grin will recycle the head for you if you snap it off and send it back to them. And remember, it's not just the toothbrush that is compostable, the packaging is compostable too! You can pick one up from most supermarkets, or check out Natural Co.


4. Toothpaste


Now this one I have not tried. Lets try it together! Here is one great plastic free and less expensive option. Check that wherever you buy them though, they don't come in plastic packaging! I love the look of the yummy ones by Lush, but they come in plastic bottle! Argh!


5. Shampoo

Now there are two options for your shampoo and conditioner. Option one, is a shampoo bar. To be honest, this is not my favourite option. I got one from Lush and found it ran our quickly and made my hair feel dry like I had washed it with... a bar of soap. Funny that. The other option is though, find a beautiful glass bottle that you can refill! I actually haven't done this yet, but whenever I go to Good For I see the huge containers of shampoo on the wall and think I must do that. Or you could try making your own shampoo! I think for now I will stick to refilling my bottle. Truth is, I had been buying my shampoo in bulk so it can take me 2 years to get through a bottle!



8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page